Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Crystal 9 Help Needed Badly

Status
Not open for further replies.

mgkSHA

Programmer
Jul 12, 2002
US
Crystal Experts:

I am hoping that someone can clarify some horrible issues I am having with Crystal Reports 9. I have been developing CR Reports for about two years now and I am very familiar with connecting, formula writing, etc. Recently, I started a new job and I have hit a real wall with working in Crystal Reports 9. I am hoping you can provide me with some insight and facts...I am having a hard time finding concrete information on my problem.

All of my experience with Crystal reports is with versions 8 and 8.5, but most importantly, with connecting Crystal via ADO, ODBC and other active database connections. At my current position, the method our clients connect is with DDF files and dictionary files. The database we use for our main product is Pervasive 2000 SQL and we DO NOT use an ODBC connection for our reports. Basically, our reports connect natively, again, to either DDF files or Dictionary files.

Now, the current DDF files and Dictionary files are very old....these were created many years ago. The person who created the dictionary files created them many years ago, so I am assuming they were probaably created in CR 6, though not sure. Here is my problem:

My company just got Crystal Reports 9. They are having major problems with it, and it is my job (along with many other programming duties..LOL) to get these to work within our system. Crystal Reports 6 and 8 have always worked...only now, with 9 are we having issues.