Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Crystal 9.0 Issue with changing database name........

Status
Not open for further replies.

FRANDAZZO

Programmer
Nov 29, 2000
US
All -

I have been working with crystal since version 7.0. I have always used an odbc connetion to connect cryatal to a sql server db. Being I am a developer for a consulting company our db/server names are usually different from our client(s). No problem!!! When in development our odbc conn pointed to our server/db. When going to install at the client I would just create an odbc connetion on their server to point to their server/datebase. All worked 100% each time.

Now, for the first time I have created reports using crystal 9.0. I am using an oledb ado connection then selecting to use odbc for oledb. For some reason, the report is holding the database name from our development server in the report. Even though I have created a odbc connetion on our clients server to point to their server and db. The report still wants to reference our server and db. What I had to do was update the datasource location for each report. That was a pain in Da......But all worked fine. This is a real costly issue....

So, am I doing something wrong? Is this a crystal 9.0 bug? Is there some new setting I do not know about????

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks in advance!

frandazzo

Frandazzo