Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cropping images

Status
Not open for further replies.

leahloy1973

Technical User
Jul 15, 2004
US
I know this has probably already been discussed on this forum but I am not sure what it is called so I don't know what to search for.

I have an image that I am using for a project. The picture is of 6 ladies standing in front of a wall with a hideous picture behind them. I need to crop out the ladies so I can put them on the front cover of the project I am working on with a solid color background behind them.

Can anyone here offer me some help? I am VERY NEW to Photoshop so I am not sure what it is called or how to do it.

Thanks tons in advance for any help offered.

Well there are quite a few wayss to do this. The way I prefer is to first make a rough selection around the item that needs cut out with the polygonal lasso or if the objects are well defined the magnetic lasso tool. Copy the selection and paste it back into the picture which will create a new layer. Hide the back ground layer and work with either the eraser tool or the polygonal lasso tool to finish the cuttout. It's very tedious and takes a bit of time.

Some times it makes it a little easier to play with the channles and hide a channel or 2. in some cases it will make the edgse of the objects a littl easier to see. making it easier to trace.

Another way is Filter extract. Not my favorite way to do it but play with that if you want.

Im sure there are other ways to cut out images. If anyone wants to elaborate.