Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

creating fixed length fields in Cognos

Status
Not open for further replies.

lymi6977

IS-IT--Management
Jan 14, 2005
US
I am new at Cognos and working contract for a company using Cognos version 8.4.
I have used Crystal Reports since version 4, and I am seeing so many functional differences between the two.

I desperately need someone's expertise. I have searched on the Internet and cannot find a solution.

I need to create several fixed length fields.
The report will be exported for import into a legacy system.

Here are a few of the fields I need to convert to fixed lengths, as they appear in Crystal now (for those who know Crystal too) --- need to know if these functions are available in Cognos and if so, how to use them:
1st one --- {ARITEM.ARIACCTYP} & ToText({ARITEM.ARIACCOUNT},"0############") & "0PAID"
2nd one --- "CK" & ToText({ARITEM.ARISERIAL},"000000####") &
ToText(ToNumber(Replace(ToText({ARITEM.ARIPAIDAMT},2),".", "")),"0000000000") &
ToText({@Paid Date}, "MMddyy") & {ARITEM.ARIPAYEE}

Thanks so much!
Sheila Snyder
sheila.snyder@capitalbank-us.com

ToText and ToNumber functions should be the CAST function in Cognos. The & can be substituted with ||

I have no idea what you mean with "0##########" Is this some sort of formatting?

Ties Blom

I believe the Crystal formula with the "0##########" is adding a leading zero and the "#" represents the length of the field.

With the cast function, what is the syntax for Cognos 8.4 to dictate the fixed length?

If I have a numeric field that I am converting to varchar, I would normally do this:
cast_varchar([fieldname])