Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

creating calculated fields

Status
Not open for further replies.

swhitten

Technical User
Sep 3, 2002
US
I'm really new to SRS and trying to grasp all the concepts here. I come from a strong Crystal background, so I'm trying to translate Crystal concepts to SRS and failing in some cases :(

Here's my current question. I want to create a calculated field so I can do other calculations on it. I don't seem to be able to calculations on expressions/text boxes.

First, I right click on the dataset on the left hand side of the Visual Studio window. Then I Add and add a calculated field. Let's say =min(Fields!CURRCOST.Value) to return the minimum cost. Then I put that on my report, and the rpeort won't run.

I'm trying to understand why not. I THINK - and this is in non-programmer language - that it can't do a calculation on an item in the dataset because it's a field in the dataset itself. Or maybe it's because it needs to do this calculation on every row in the dataset? I need to understand.

Alternatively, I tried doing that in a cell in the layout window. But then it is just a textbox, and I cannot do further calculations on it - example - subtotaling on it.

Thanks in advance if you can shed any light on this to help a non-progrmmer understand.

How you do it depends on what you need to do with the report

You are calculating a minimum value...is that to display as part of a summary or at the bottom of a list?

What further calc would you want to do on it and where does the calc need to be in the report?

as a btw, you can refer specifically to controls on the report using the ReportItems collection e.g.

=ReportItems!Textbox1.value