Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Creating a Stored Procedure which Accesses Nonexistant column

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmgaviao

Programmer
Oct 30, 2002
US
Hello,

I am somewhat new to stored procedures. I'm trying to create SP that adds a column to a table, Accesses the column in a select statement, and then drops the column.

It seems fairly straight forward to simply add the appropriate sql to the SP. However, when I Run the Create SP, it tells me that the column does not exist, and does not create the SP. Is this not possible to do?

TIA for any suggestions...

The sp resolve the ids of any objects when it runs.
It will include create table in this resolution but not alter table so when it tries to generate the query plan your column does nor exist and gives an error.

The resolution is to access the new column in a different batch - eith place the code in dynamic sql or into another SP called from tyhe first (which will be recompiled on every run).

This is a very dubious thing to do though. Static objects should be static and not changed at run time.

see

======================================
Cursors are useful if you don't know sql.
DTS can be used in a similar way.
Beer is not cold and it isn't fizzy.

What are you using this column for? A column that is created and then dropped is not a good thing to do to your data structure. Inthe first place you don;t want users to have the ability to make changes to the structure, this is a security issue. Inthe second place, what happens if multiple people are running this procedure simulatanoeusly.