Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Creating a loop which increments each form input name

Status
Not open for further replies.

schoch

Technical User
Jan 17, 2007
AU
Hi, I want to loop a form name. Incrementing it so that each field has the same input name with a number.
It just isn't working, I am new to php so really need some help!
Code:
 <?php

for ($cnt=1; $cnt<=; $i++)
{
  echo "$cnt";
}
?>        

<tr> <td> <?php do { ?>
        <input name="day<?php echo $cnt; ?>" value="<?php echo $row_days['day_name']; ?>">
        </td>
 <td> <input name="mail_drop<?php echo $cnt; ?>" type="text" id="mail_drop" value="" size="10"></td>
   <td><input name="phone_canvas<?php echo $cnt; ?>" type="text" id="phone_canvas" size="10" value=""> </td>
   <td><input name="emails_sent<?php echo $cnt; ?>" type="text" id="emails_sent" size="10" value=""></td>
   <td><input name="appointments_made<?php echo $cnt; ?>" type="text" id="appointments_made" size="10" value=""></td>
   <td><input name="presentations<?php echo $cnt; ?>" type="text" id="presentations" size="10" value=""></td>
   <td><input name="bills_analysed<?php echo $cnt; ?>" type="text" id="bills_analysed" size="10" value=""></td>
   <td><input name="orders<?php echo $cnt; ?>" type="text" id="orders" size="10" value=""></td>
   <td><input name="deliveries<?php echo $cnt; ?>" type="text" id="deliveries" size="10" value=""></td>
   <td><input name="referrals<?php echo $cnt; ?>" type="text" id="referrals" size="10" value=""></td>
 <?php } while ($row_days = mysql_fetch_assoc($days)); ?>
 </tr>

if you have 20 forms

Code:
for ($i=0; $i<20; $i++){
 echo '<input type="text" name="somecontrol_'.$i.'" />';
 //etc
}