Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Create list of dates for Date/Time field

Status
Not open for further replies.

HighLife

Programmer
Jun 17, 2003
AU
I'm a Notes design newbie - I'm developing a quoting system for our company and the quote document passes through various "status" as it is processed. As it passes into each status the status date is recorded in a Date/Time field for each status.

Occasionally there may be a need for it to pass back through the same status again - instead of the previous status date being overwritten I would like it to be appended to the existing date in that field.

What I was thinking was to save a list of dates in a date time field? So if there was an existing value in the date/time field, the new date would be added to the list? Is this possible? If so how would I program it?

I suppose your field is Computed (as well it should be).
Take a look at this code :

Code:
@if(!@isdocbeingsaved;fieldname;
@if(fieldname="";newvalue;fieldname:newvalue)
)

As you admit to being a Notes beginner, I'll explain what the code does.

The nature of a Computed field is that its formula recomputes every time the document is refreshed, and when the doc is saved.
Thus, I first check if the document is being saved, since there is no sense to update the formula before then.
If that is not the case, the formula returns the current value of the field - so nothing happens.
If the document is being saved, the code goes to the ELSE portion of the first @If, which is another @if.
This time, I check if the field is empty. If it is, then I just use the value I want to insert.