Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Create an outline

Status
Not open for further replies.

lb1

Technical User
Apr 19, 2002
US
I have a logo and I would like to create a fine white line around it. This logo is supposed to go over a blaclk background and I need to see the outline detils.
How can I do this?
Thnks.

I am just new at this.

Hey lb1 -

If you have a logo with a bunch of different parts and you want a fine white line around ONLY THE OUTSIDE BORDER of the logo, this is probably the best way to do it:

1. Select all of your logo elements by making sure all your layers are unlocked and click "ctrl + a" or edit -> select all

2. Copy the logo (ctrl + c) and make a new layer UNDERNEATH your original logo. Paste your copy onto this new layer by pressing ctrl + b or "edit -> paste in back" with the new layer selected. this will paste the copy in the exact same position as the original logo but on a new layer behind your orginal logo. At this point I would hide all your other layers except this new one so you can see it.

3. The next thing I would do, with the entire logo copy still selected, is "type -> create outlines", and "object -> outline stroke" on all the elements so that everything is a fill: there are no strokes or type. Make sure everything is selected when you use these commands.

4. The next thing is to combine everything into one path. Do this by -- with everything selected -- click the "add to shape area" button on the pathfinder palette. Make sure nothing is grouped for this to work properly by clicking "strl + shift + g" a bunch of times with everything selected before using the "add to shape area".