Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Create a recordset in a VB module from a table

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamessl

Technical User
Jul 20, 2002
DK
First up I am a VB rookie.

I am writing a VB module which edits a group of records in a table based on some information entered on a form. I need to write a module as the manipulation/editing of the records is slightly complex.

My (simple) question is -

I need to select a group of records (within the module) from a table, based on Date criteria. I think the best way to do this is to create a new recordset within my module. Then I should be able to check values within the records and edit the records within this recordset easily.

My question is mainly to do with syntax -

What is the VB code for creating a recordset, which relies on criteria (eg a date) for selecting its records?

I think I should be able to use the OpenRecordset method and use an SQL statement to select particular fields and use criteria, but I am not entirely sure how to do this.

I would be selecting the records for the recordset from a table in the open database.

Help appreciated!

Hi,
Try this inside of a command button called "cmdFind". Modify as needbe.

Private Sub cmdFind_Click()
Dim conn As Connection
Dim rs As Recordset

Set conn = CurrentProject.Connection
Set rs = conn.Execute("SELECT * FROM tblInvoice WHERE InvoiceDate=#" & txtdate & "#")
With rs
If RecordCount > 0 Then
MsgBox !InvoiceDate
Else
MsgBox "No matching records found"
End If
.Close
End With
Set rs = Nothing: conn.Close: Set conn = -Nothing
End Sub

Have a good one!
BK

Hi again,

The above is using ADO 2.1 in your references.