Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

crazy template to get the lenght of an array

Status
Not open for further replies.

whitespider

Programmer
Mar 10, 2009
BR
I'm a brasilian. So please excuse me any mistakes.
Does anybody knows how this templates works? I got this example in the web, and voila it works properly. But I have no idea how. I am new in C++ ( I used to program in Delphi) but my new job requires a deep knowledge in C++.
Can you help me please?!
The templates supposedly gets the size of an array (not in bytes) but in number of elements.

template <typename T, int N>
char (&len(T(&)[N]))[N];

thanks anyway

I doubt the code is portable.

What does the len() function look like?
Do you have the link to the page where you found this code?

I doubt the code is portable.

What does the len() function look like?
Do you have the link to the page where you found this code?

cpjust I really don't remember. What u see up there (the template) is the declaration of the len function. There is no other code for the len. But it works. If you wanna try it do this:
declare the len function exactly like that and then call it like this: sizeof len(array);
Don't ask me why I have to call the sizeof function before.
Thank u for ansering.

cpjust,
by the way I'm having a very hard time to create a similar template. The problem seems to be the way C++ deals with arrays. As far as I can understand the C++ never uses the real array as a parameter for a function. In fact the parameter is always a pointer to the first element of the array, and that situation causes a lot of trouble when I try to do something like this, inside a function or procedure:
sizeof(array)/sizeof(array[0])