Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CR XI - Going Rate for CR Developers? TEXAS??

Status
Not open for further replies.

OrionStar

Technical User
Dec 3, 2004
US
I'm curious, what is the approx. salary range for CR Developers in Texas or Central USA area???

Any ranges and basic job descriptions would be greatly appreciated.

MV

"What would you attempt to do... if you knew ... you could not fail?

There are dozens of factors involved in this. And I have no experience in Texas.

It depends on whether the job is a temp, like a conversion of some reports from something to crystal or a full-time ongoing job with a budgeted position.

I doubt you are going to get too many people to talk about their short-term price, for obvious reasons.

It seems like a lot of people want to hire Crystal Reports writers for about $35/hr in Denver. This is sometimes on W2 (regular employee) and sometimes on 1099 (independent contractor). I know sometimes this is fine and sometimes it is way too low.

If this is a 1+ year job, that would be about 70K for a W2. It comes out quite a bit lower for 1099, but can be as low as 35K. This is probably high market price for a full-time, ongoing job, give or take. I think I've seen some writers asking for 60K annual.

You can probably find out a lot of this by looking for a salary survey.

Now for short term, anything goes. Well, sort of. I've seen people price themselves between $30 and $110 for a variety of reasons. Location/commute, length of contract, hours per day, expectation/requirements, ...

Basic job description is a little more comfortable discussion:

-Interact with users to develop new reports.
-Convert older reports in legacy systems into Crystal.