Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CPU Apparently not working

Status
Not open for further replies.

CitrixEngineer

Technical User
Aug 17, 2000
GB
I say "Apparently", because I've never seen a CPU simply die without showing at least some form of flakiness beforehand: especially when that CPU has been fine for a little over a year (just out of warranty!).

RIG:
ABIT BX-6 mobo
256MB Kingston PC-100 SDRAM
3dFx Voodoo 3 3000 16MB AGP
SoundBlaster Live!
Hauppauge WinTV PCI Nicam
3Com 3C509TX 10/100 NIC
SoundBlaster AWE 32 8MB
WinModem
Quantum Fireball 4GB
Seagate 3.1GB
Maxtor 17GB
Pioneer 105 16x DVD
Sony 4x4x24 CD-RW

Scenario:

I've been running this computer as my main PC for nearly 3 years. The software build is MS Office 2000, IE5.5, DX8, Magix Music Maker 5, Steinberg WaveLab, Steinberg Cubase 3, Microsoft Age of Kings and Civilisation II Test of Time. I don't run shareware or install anything else on this machine because I use it to write music on (and play the occasional game!). I have another 6 PCs on my home network to play with software on.

Once a month I spray ice around the inside of the case to drive out the dust, and there are 3 fans: the usual one, and a pair located front and back - one reverse wired - to provide constant airflow.

Last January I upgraded the processor to the current Intel PIII 450. The processor is held in place by a huge heatsink with a bolt at each corner that goes through the mobo. Although this is an ABIT board, I would rather buy a new processor than overclock this machine.

Two weeks ago I installed Windows ME. On Sunday evening, I got the message "The CPU has changed or is unworkable".