Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Corrupt Cardfile Display on Windows10 or11

Status
Not open for further replies.

james33

Technical User
Dec 23, 2000
IE
Hi All

Just had a query from someone who had an issue with his display and in my trawling through the posts I discovered something I wrote back in April 2004!!!

Here is the query:

I have been using Sidekick 98 since 1995. With my new laptop, Thinkpad X1 carbon, the memo subject fields are not displaying at all, but the contents of the memo field are displayed. The same happens for contacts

I have not had issues with another laptop running Windows 11 or 10. This is the only one, Thinkpad X1. I have tried the compatibility mode and no progress. I was thinking maybe Sidekick 99 might work. If you have the software please share the link where I can download it. I have also updated all the display drivers.

You can also see the text on the tabs is displaying incorrectly, vertically.

Deepak_py0qn8.jpg

Dear All,
Funnily enough I may have a solution and all the time it was here in the FAQ pages so it makes me feel a bit silly (look at my signature)!!
Question 6 on FAQ page1 ( FAQ807-2966 )says the following and it will probably work with Sidekick99 too:

Q: The information in Cardfile and Write extends across the screen and covers the Sidekick 98 icons on the right side of the screen. The Sidekick 98 screen appears normal when EarthTime, Calendar, Expense, or Activities is selected. Why is this happening?