Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Copying bookmarked data from 1 Word doc to another 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

PCVirgin

Programmer
Nov 11, 2003
GB
I am new to VBA and I hope I have posted this in the right forum.

I am trying to copy text from one opened Word document to another using a macro. In the macro I check to see if the source document is opened then move the data at each specified bookmark to another specified bookmark in the destination document.

When I first ran this code it 'worked' like a charm. Now I keep getting the spurious message saying "5941"

Can anyone help me?
If DocOpen(strDocName) = True Then
Dim appWord As Word.Application
Dim SrcDoc As Word.Document
Dim DestDoc As Word.Document
Set DestDoc = ActiveDocument
Set SrcDoc = Documents.Open("U:\Work\LHN Assessment - MASTER.doc")
' Set appWord = CreateObject("Word.Application")
'Sex'
DestDoc.Bookmarks("Text473").Range.Text = SrcDoc.Bookmarks("Text318").Range.Text

DestDoc.Bookmarks("Text487").Range.Text = SrcDoc.Bookmarks("Chk103").Range.Text

Else
MsgBox "LHN Assessment Document is closed"
End If

End Sub

I would like to help, and probable could, but since you totally ignored everything I wrote in your other post, I fail to see much point.

BTW: the 5941 error from your code is not spurious whatsoever. It is quite appropriate and correct.

The requested member of the collection does not exist.

Gerry

There seems to be some confusion here, as I am not talking about check boxes here, simply moving data from one word document to another.

Your comments from a previous post were taken on board however this IMHO is another subject.