Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Copy Paste Macro

Status
Not open for further replies.

nina1

Programmer
Aug 14, 2001
CA
I am new to VBA and I need help for a simple macro that will look at the value in A column "Part" and copy the value of B column down till it gets to the "Part " again and loop to the end.
It should looks like something like this:

Part 3222-01
3222-01
3222-01
3222-01
Part 3444-02
3444-02
3444-02

What stops the copy process? Surely you don't want "3444-02" copied down to the last available row of the spreadsheet do you?

Column A "Part" should stop the copy process.

Right now it looks like this:

Part 3222-01
Empty
Empty
Empty
Part 3444-02
Empty
Empty
Empty
Part 3555-03
Empty
Empty
Empty
and so on and I need it like this
Part 3222-01
3222-01
3222-01
Part 3444-02
3444-02
3444-02

and so on

According to what you're asking for in your example, column B, rows 9 through 1048576 will contain 3555-03. In other words, where's the "Part" that stops 3555-03 from being copied?

The excell sheet contains 17000 rows with data and there are multiple part numbers that are displayed in the order I displayed, the last set of part will look like this

Part 03999-01
empty cell
empty cell
empty cell
empty cell
empty cell

Yes, but what we need to know in order to help you is:
how can the macro know when to terminate processing that final set?
If you have 17,000 rows, then after "Part" there will be more than 48,000 empty lines!
Having nothing but "Part" as a distinguisher of sets, your last set will then contain 48,535 lines reading "03999-01".

Do these "Part" sections all have equal length, i.e. do they all span 4 (or 3, or 5...) lines?

Cheers,
miS