Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cookie query

Status
Not open for further replies.

disturbedone

Vendor
Sep 28, 2006
AU
Hi,relative PHP newbie here, be nice :)

Scenario: Apache web server (IP PBX) eg 192.168.1.1 hosting page that allows user to log in to and control their phone. User page allows a panel to display an HTML/PHP page, which is hosted on another Apache server on eg 192.168.1.50, that I've written that searches and LDAP directory which works perfectly. When search displays results one field if their phone number. A URL is available to create a call eg (where num2 is the value obtained from the db).

Issue: Somehow I need to populate the num1 parameter in the URL. When a user logs on to the page they enter their xtn and pword which is stored as a cookie.

Question: Is it possible, somehow, to get my page to query the cookie that was supplied by the other web server? Querying the cookie should supply the value of the xtn they are logged in with and I can then put that in my URL. The issue I'm not sure of is that the cookie is supplied by one server and I want to query it from another.

Clear as mud? Any suggestions welcome.
Thx

in a word, no. cookies are sent by the browser and the web server has no say in what it receives.

so i would think again about storing that kind of data in a cookie and instead store it in a session variable and use a cookie to help identify the user (and instantiate the session) on each server. you need do nothing more than this

Code:
session_start();
$_SESSION['num1'] = (empty($_SESSION['num1'])) ? getNum1FromSomewhere(); $_SESSION['num1'];