Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Converting Text 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

mfreeze

Programmer
Sep 11, 2003
US
Could someone post a code snippet of how to do the following? I just need a little help getting started since I am fairly new to Perl. Also, does anyone know of any good websites with Perl tutorials? Thanks in advance, Mark.

What I need to do is this:

On my Linux box, watch a certain directory for files, and when they appear, convert them from ascii fixed-length to ascii tab delimited. Could someone show me how to open a file in Perl, read from line to line in fixed length input (looping until eof) and writing these same records out to a tab delimited file. (Assuming the input data would look something like this:)

0010Mark 10/18/2003
0001Ted 11/04/2003
9091Billy 01/01/2001

(Code c(4), Name c(10), Date c(10))

Again, thanks for any help anyone may be able to provide.

this wil read line to line
from bla.txt in current dir
and in the wile you can do what ever you want with the input

i also know a good tutorial for perl you can find it in "man perl"
there are a couple of tutotials

i hope this is what you mean
#!/usr/bin/perl

open F,"bla.txt";
while (<F>) {
print $_;
}

Fietse solution won't get you very far. It will open your file and print its contents to the screen.

Here is something that should suit you a little better. Assuming that the code field is always 4 chars, the name field is always 10, and the date field is always 10, do this:

use strict;
use warnings;

open (IN, &quot;original_file.txt&quot;); #open your text file for reading
open (OUT, &quot;>temp.txt&quot;); #open a temp file for writing the tabbed output
while (<IN>) {