Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

converting HTML markup code to text

Status
Not open for further replies.

santanudas

Technical User
Mar 18, 2002
GB
Greetings all,

I'm a python newbie, so my apology for being silly (if it is) with my question.

I was trying to convert converting HTML markup code to human readable text and the sample line I took form the iTumes music library, which is a .xml file.

Code:
import os, sys, string
import urllib;

xmlString = "<string>file://localhost/Volumes/DataCenter/iTunes/iTunes%20Music/George%20Michael/Ladies%20&%20Gentlemen_%20The%20Best%20Of%20George%20Michael/Father%20Figure.m4a</string>

String = xmlString.split("/")
iX = urllib.unquote(String[-3])
print "Album name: " + iX

I was expecting to see "Ladies & Gentlemen_ The Best Of George Michael" in stead it returns "Ladies & Gentlemen_ The Best Of George Michael" i.e. it's converting the %* thing but not the & and stuff like that. Any one know what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help. Cheers!!!

Hi

santanudas said:
[small]was expecting to see [/small]
"Ladies & Gentlemen_ The Best Of George Michael" [small]in stead it returns [/small]
"Ladies & Gentlemen_ The Best Of George Michael"
As you can see, those two strings appear identically.

( Note that the TGML parser currently has a bug, it transforms certain character entities. It is tricky : the message appears correctly in the preview, then alters it. )

Please post again without previewing.

Feherke.

Silly me, I should have realized the html-code will be converted into normal character on the browser any way.

So, this is the sample line, taken for the .xml file
Code: