Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Convert VFP to FileMaker Pro

Status
Not open for further replies.

David Simpson

Technical User
Jun 10, 2023
US
thread184-1819416

Hi, my name is David Simpson, I am the developer of FmPro Migrator software you mentioned above.

I appreciate that there are some very good suggestions mentioned by Mike and Chris. I have been a FileMaker Pro developer for 37 years, doing VFP conversions for 13 years and I have been developing FmPro Migrator for 20 years.

I like the idea of porting Visual FoxPro solutions to FileMaker for a few reasons:

1) Just like Visual FoxPro, even large FileMaker Pro solutions can be developed and maintained by a single developer.

2) Claris (used to be named FileMaker Inc.) is a profitable division of a nearly 3T market cap company (Apple).

3) The FileMaker product runs cross-platform on macOS, Windows and IOS. FileMaker Go for IOS is free, so it is easy to deploy a mobile solution. With few exceptions, code you write within FileMaker scripts will run perfectly cross-platform without changes.

There are a few considerations when migrating from Visual FoxPro to FileMaker:

1) FileMaker Pro includes a DBF import feature - however the DBF import doesn't support the reading of Memo fields from DBF files. I have solved that problem with a direct DBF transfer tool.