Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Convert Excel 2003 VBA to Access VBA 2003

Status
Not open for further replies.

DMS500Tech

Technical User
Dec 22, 2004
US
I give up.
I have looked and serched this web site for 3 days thru 1000's of titles and dozens of code snippets and can't find what I need.
Myself and an intern put together the following code last summer (I am not a programmer it is more like I hack code together until it works). Well I have ran into a big problem the query I am extracting the data from has grown from 50 some thousand records to over 200,000 records so I have far exceeded Excels 65536 row limit.
What I need to do is convert the following Excel VBA code so that it will work the same way in Access. I can't seem to find any examples of what it is that needs to be changed or how to change it.

-------------------------------------------------
CODE AS IT IS NOW
-------------------------------------------------

Option Explicit

Sub Extract_DN_and_LEN_from_a_text_files()
'
' populate Macro
'If there are coloumns that you dont want, comment it out in the code

Dim intOutFile As String
intOutFile = FreeFile
Dim RecordNum As Long
String
Open "C:\TEMP\CR16_0.TXT" For Input As #intOutFile ' Enter path of input file

RecordNum = 1

Dim LinesFromFile, NextLine As String

' code to check if the workbbok is open and if the contents of the workbook are protected
If ActiveWorkbook Is Nothing Then Exit Sub ' no active workbook
If ActiveWorkbook.ProtectStructure Then
MsgBox ActiveWorkbook.Name & " is protected.", vbCritical, "cannot overwrite."
Close intOutFile
Exit Sub
End If

Workbooks("RESULTS.xls").Worksheets("Sheet1").Activate

With ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("sheet1")