Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ControlSource Property 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

l7square01

Programmer
Jun 4, 2004
US
I am new to ms access. I am trying to display a calculated value in a text box. The calculated field name is PageSum. In the ControlSource property I set it to: =[PageSum], but it appears that the PageSum variabe is not recognizable to the text box.

I assume that this pagesum field is included in the recordsource of the report...

if it is, then you just need to put: pageSum in the recordsource of the textbox

Crowley - as in like a Crow

The PageSum field is not in a table. It is a calculated field using fields in a table. I looked at the recordsource feature, I think this of for tables, or bound fields. My field is not defined in any tables or query.

Is your form bound or unbound? If it is bound to a query, calculate this value in the query, call it PageSum, and then do as Crowley16 said and put "PageSum" in the control source.

Explain a bit more detail if we are missing the mark.

The report is a bound report, but the PageSum field is user defined in the VB code builder. I can display all of the bound fields, it is the user defined field that I defined in the VB code builder that I can not dispay in a text box. PageSum is calculated by using a bound field on the report, but I want to display the calculated field which is not in my database table(I created it in the VB code builder).

You cannot reference a variable directly from a text box, you need a wrapper function to return the variable to the report.

Be sure that PageSum is declared in the declarations section of your module (before all of the other Procedures).