Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Controlling Word from Access 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

sda7bobp

Technical User
Feb 14, 2005
US
I have never used the Shell function before, so I am not certain just how to get done what I need. I need to open Word from Access, then open a form letter template that gets its data from the Access database from which I am opening Word. Then merge the data and print the letters. I can open Word with the Shell function, but then when I attempt to open the form letter template, the SendKeys sends the information back to Access and not to Word. What do I need to do differently?
Thanks,
Bob

You should look into automation as opposed to Shell and SendKeys. It will be much easier to manipulate and things will behave a little more consistently. Through automation you can create a Word object and manipulate the object in Access. This way you work with the actual object model instead of trying to emulate a user interacting with the program using SendKeys.

Hope this helps,
Tom

The shell function won't get you there I don't think. You need to work inside Word directly.

Code:
Public Function MergeIt()
Dim odoc As Word.Document
Set odoc = GetObject("PathtoyourFormLetter", "Word Document")
odoc.MailMerge.OpenDataSource _
Name:="PathTo.mdbFile", _
linktosource: = True, _
connection:="QUERY querynamehere", _
SQLStatement:="Select * From SomeTable"
odoc.MailMerge.Execute

End Function

This will get you closer. Try it out and post back with problems.

Paul

Thanks, Paul and Tom. I have just gotten back to working on this and will try your suggestions.
Bob

Paul,
I get an error with the Dim statement: "User defined type not defined".
Code: