Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

control arrays

Status
Not open for further replies.

faisalsham

Programmer
Mar 11, 2005
US
Hello all, I'm new to ASP. I have a text box control array created dynamically and I need to find a way to refer to the nth text box. I'm not sure how to do that. The code below just creates the text boxes and stores some value in them. Now how can I refer back to the nth text box through code? Thanks in advance.

Here's my code:
Code:
<%
while not objrs.EOF
  EntityPK = objrs.fields("ENTITY")
%>
<input type = "text" name="PK" value="<%=EntityPK%>">
<%
objrs.MoveNext
wend
%>

Are all of your textboxes named "PK"? Might it not be somewhat easier to refer to them in some sort of order that would differentiate them, such as "PK1", "PK2", etc...? Something like this, perhaps?
Code:
<%
dim i
i = 0
while not objrs.EOF

response.write "<input type = ""text"" name=""PK"" value=""" & EntityPK & i & """>"

objrs.MoveNext
i = i + 1
wend
%>

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
- Winston Churchill

Do you want to reference them after the form is posted or in the same page right after you create them?

If it's the latter than you are out of luck. Once you write data to the response buffer (Response.Write) you can't modify it, it's either on it's way to the user's browser or waiting in the buffer to be flushed to the user. Your only option is to output it the way you want the first time around.