Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Control Arrays -- passing controls as a variable

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheComputerDude

Programmer
Feb 27, 2006
US
I have 3 control arrays (text box, list box, and combo box)and would like to populate a form in 3 columns. I have never tried to use a control variable before and I am have a problem trying to get it to work. My code is below, if you have any suggestions, please let me know.

Private Sub Form_Load()
Const intSpacing As Integer = 105
Dim intCounter As Integer
Dim ctrlName As Control

For intCounter = 1 To 2
Set ctrlName = lblCoverageType(0)
Load ctrlName(intCounter)
With ctrlName(intCounter)
.Left = ctrlName(intCounter - 1).Left + ctrlName(intCounter - 1).Width + intSpacing
.Visible
End With
If intCounter < 2 Then
End If
Next intCounter
End Sub

I think I see what you're up to. You're on the right track. Now:

1. In design mode, put a text box, a list box, and a combo box. Make them invisible.
2. When you load the form, store the left property of each control to its own module level variable. Set up a spacing constant as you have done, if you like.
3. When you add your first row of controls, just make the existing controls visible.
4. Create a Sub to add a subsequent row of controls. In this sub, just load each of your three controls. Use the left variables and the spacing constant.

<Set ctrlName = lblCoverageType(0)
Do not confuse the name of the control, which is a string, with the control itself, which is an object reference. What you're actually doing here is referencing your label control. For example, if you put
Code:
Set ctrlName = lblCoverageType(0)
ctrlName.Caption = "Hello World!"