Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Contractor percent of Bill Amount

Status
Not open for further replies.

kxramse

Programmer
Jul 28, 2006
US
I'm a Business Intelligence Analyst using SSRS, SSAS and SSIS, SQL Server and Oracle databases. I am working for a contracting company and the other day, my boss at the client site let it be known what my billing rate is. He left the bill on his desk as I was talking to him about something else, but it was in REALLY PLAIN SITE.

I'm paid $43 per hour yet billed at $79. I get no benefits at all although I am a W2 employee. I'm essentially making 54% of what my client is being billed.

Would you renegotiate with your contracting company? Is this a fair rate? How would you take the news?

Good luck with that. That's a pretty common thing - some pay a greater percentage than 54% - some less. You agreed to work for $43 / hour without benefits.

Is it fair? You tell us. Were you happy with your pay rate before you saw the invoice?

Greg
"Personally, I am always ready to learn, although I do not always like being taught." - Winston Churchill

I see your point. I was moderately happy; but was thinking a raise was potentially in the plans.

I think I simply want to know what's a prevailing or fair rate distribution. Is it a fair percentage? Is it gouging? What do people think of this kind of spread?

Hang on...you're looking it the wrong way. You're trying to find whether there is a prevailing percentage division between contracting company and employee/contractor, and the answer is no (but also irrelevant). Your concern should be whether you are being paid the prevailing or market wage for you work (including in the equation the lack of benefits).