Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Continuous Improvement vs. Project Management

Status
Not open for further replies.

stormbind

Technical User
Mar 6, 2003
GB
I am still learning, but with each step things are becoming clearer.

As a developer, I have always advocated Continuous Improvement. Much of the time, this is essentially be powered by the requests of end users.

As a Project Manager, my textbook guides (I did say I was still learning) are trying to distance me from the developers: It is no longer my priority to make sure things work, it is my priority to make sure enough resources have been assigned to get the job done on time.

For me, this causes a massive conflict. How can I possibly advocate Continuous Improvement when time is limited and resources are budgetted?

But surely, I cannot do a 180 and sideline such a fundamental aspect of ongoing growth.

How do I intergrate these seemingly conflicting visions and methods of working?

--Glen :)

Memoria mihi benigna erit qui eam perscribam

You know the Dilbert Principle: Project Management textbooks seem to be written by that moron manager with the two-spikes hairdo! :p

I'll be honest, I haven't taken project management courses, nor have I gone through and read "How to's" on this. I have and do continue to manage major projects that have large impacts on the facilities I am in charge of (the current one being to move all servers from one location to another).

Time and resources are budgeted, they are "controlled" and used to justify your existance, along with the existance of your team.