Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Consulting 101 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wavesg

Technical User
Jul 11, 2001
US
I live in NYC and would like to know the steps needed to starts consulting. I'm a Cisco Network Engineer plus Voice.

Any thoughts??

Thanks

Stay cool; it’s not over yet!

Wavesg,

My brother does it accross the nation but with hospitals and main-frames, mid-range computers and PCs mostly data base stuff between the different systems.

First it helps to have worked in the area for several years, he did it for about 5 years with a hospital IT and then 3 years as a consultant for an IT firm that deals with hospitals. He then broke off on his own. HE DID NOT HAVE A NON-COMPETE and had a client, contract was up and company was looking for a "new" consulting company with him as the consultant - "instant business".

he has been doing it on his own for about 9 years, he is very lucky and has locked in several LONG-TERM contracts of several years. Many of the other consultants he meets on the flights around the country say to ALWAYS be looking for the next client, expect to be "down" 10% to 20% of the time so you need a reserve between clients.

He talked to his lawyer, insurance agent and accountant about setting up a business, some will include a banker if money will be needed also:

Name: - company name, name search, state registration and domain name for web etc.
Type of company: - LLC, Sole etc.
Insurance: - health, life, disabilty, business veh., liability, completed operations, errors and omissions, if you screw up or break something or delete something or reveal something etc.
Lic: - city lic, county lic. business lic. state lic. etc.