Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

consoidating from a multi domain to 2003 single domain

Status
Not open for further replies.

jny04

Technical User
Oct 6, 2004
GB
Hi guys,

I have recently taken over a engineering group who have many small companies, with an IT office on each site.

What my technician wants to do is consilidate them all into 1 domain.
2003, and have one mailserver at HQ.

Im not too technical however I have employed a chap I want to make sure his advise is ok.....

What are the reasons for using one domain? my main one is mobility....however if you could assist me with this i would be grateful, or give me a URL ??

Hi,

Are you after advice on how to do it, or what the benefits of consollodation are?

When I started at my current place we had 5 domains across just 30 servers. These have now been placed into 3 domains.

It all depends on your whole AD topology. For example, if you have 10 domains but they are all in the same forest and set as child domains of your main administrative domain (e.g. sales.company.com, marketing.company.com and your parent domain is company.com).
If this is the case then it's a bit hard to clearly state why you want to change things.

Having a single domain is easy for administration and management, however the hassle of changing workstations and users from one domain to another isn't the easiest of tasks (although it's got better in 2k3).
If using MS products such as Exchange, ISA and SQL then AD integration is so tight that as long as your topology is well designed; having multiple domains isn't an issue.