Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Connectivity Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

baycolor

MIS
Mar 23, 2005
US
Ok I have zero Oracle experience. I use Crystal Reports and someone once came to my cube and installed some Oracle software on my machine and I could then connect to an Oracle database and build reports. I have no idea what the database version is that I was connecting to.

I do know that when they installed the software I had under Start/Programs a new folder called: Oracle - DEFAULT_HOME and some other folders underneath that. And I know that they put an entry in a TNSNAMES.ora file in the path:
C:\ORAWIN95\NETWORK\ADMIN

Everything was working great for months.

Recently I had to install some Business Objects 6.5.1 Universe Designer software on my PC. Part of that process was to install some Oracle software to connect to an Oracle database that Business Objects uses. The software that was installed created the following program folders under Start/Programs: Oracle - HOME817 and Oracle - OraHome92 And I know that the TNSNAMES.ora files in C:\oracle\ora92\network\ADMIN was updated to make this connection work.

Today I attempted to connect to the Oracle database that Crystal Reports was setup to connect to. It failed giving me the following message box message: "Failed to open the connection. Details: ORA-12154: TNS: could not resolve service name [Database Vendor Code: 12154]

I renamed TNSNAMES.ora files a couple times and kept starting and connecting to my Business Objects environment and found that Business Objects is using the TNSNAMES.ora file in C:\oracle\ora92\network\ADMIN to connect to Oracle.