Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Connecting to a Local Printer across Active Directory?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sulleh

IS-IT--Management
Jun 7, 2006
US
Ok, I have an old dot-matrix printer hooked up to a Windows XP professional box, and the printer is shared and the "add this information to the directory" is checked. It prints fine locally.

When I search for printers on another network machine, it shows up. When I try to add it, it asks for my username and password. I type it in (I'm a domain admin), and I get the following error:

"Windows could not connect to the printer, this operation could not be completed."

I have added the "everyone" group to the printer share, as well as the "Domain Users" group. I've also tried creating a local account with sufficiant rights, but still no dice.

Can anyone help me out?

Check if have a added drivers for different versions of Windows (if you are using different versions of Windows in your network).

Another clue will be Windows XP firewall.

It is the same version of Windows running on both machines (XP) and the firewall is disabled on the XP machine with the Printer attached.

With the network user, enabling / disabling the firewall had no effect. I think its a credentials / login issue.

I am assuming that you have this set up in a domain, (since you are a domain admin).