Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Connect 2 HP 2610 Procurves to a Mitel 3300

Status
Not open for further replies.

PhyscoAustinio

IS-IT--Management
Apr 5, 2011
Hi Everyone, I am new to this so please be nice ;-)

We currently have a Mitel 3300 and a procurve 2610 switch, at the moment it has 2 VLANs setup on it. We are moving offices shortly and will be adding extra phones so need an additional switch. We have purchased another 2610 but are having problems getting it to all work together nicely. The setup is as follows:

Mitel 3300 on 192.168.207.15

Draytek Vigor 3300 router on 192.168.107.3
With a static route (destination IP) 192.168.207.0 - (Gateway IP) 192.168.107.11

Procurve 2610 1 (original)
The IP address of the Switch is 192.168.107.11 / 255.255.255.0
Default gateway is 192.168.107.3

Default VLAN - 192.168.107.11
All ports are untagged except 1 and 15. From memory the Mitel 3300 is connected into port 1, and the phone console is plugged into port 15.

VLAN 6 - 192.168.207.11
All ports are tagged except 1 and 15

We setup the 2610 with a IP of 192.168.107.12 and setup the same VLANs. We tried using both the router and original switch as the default gateway with no joy. When I plug a Mitel IP phone in it gets to the stage where it's lookinh for a DHCP server and fails, yet if we plug a pc in it gets a IP address straight away.

Can anyone explain how I should setup the second switch and VLANs on it so we can plug a pc and it will get a 107 IP address or a IP phone which will get a 207 IP address.

If you need any more info please ask.

I assume you are patching the new switch into a port on the old switch?

Step 1: create both VLANs on the new switch