Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Confusion about Impromptu and Powerplay?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cat12dog

Programmer
Nov 20, 2002
US
Hi All,

I am new to Cognos.I gone through Impromptu administrator 5.0 and powerplay client and Transformer tools.There is a little bit confusion on impromptu and powerplay.
Impromptu =Reporting tool(Process Includes creating the catalogs from datasource and maintaning the user classes and user groups to access the folders and calculations condition and prompts for our clients specifications.)
The last step which i didn't get is why we want to drill through to power play.
Power play=Reporting + Multidimensional analysis(Using TRANSFORMER We will crete power cubes mdc analysis)
P.P =Impromptu+ Multidimensional analysis
So we will do everything md analysis and reporting by power play.why do we need impromptu.Is there any logic behind over there.

I AM Very new to this May be its tip for this forum.Please accept my Dirty english.

Waiting for reply,
Thanks in Advance.
HFL.

Hello.

In my case, the cube would be showing summary data only, and our users usually would ask question like "How come this month, the average document delay is longer than usual." In such scenerio, we would need to show our users the underlying records which the summary figure is derived from. We would use drill-through to an Impromptu report (from OLTP) to show our users the lowest level of data for their "find-out-why" purpose.