Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Confused

Status
Not open for further replies.

redwhip

Technical User
Apr 29, 2003
GB
Hi,
Sorry to sound real dumb but I'm new to Domino and just trying to get it all working at home.
I have a domino 5 server set up at home which seems to be set up and working OK.
I'm just a bit puzzled as to why my client machine is saying 'ID file not found in address book'. I am trying to connect using Notes as a user that is clearly in the address book of the servername. (Not too sure if this is where his name should be).

I have also tried registering the person but nothing seems to happen.

What is the difference between registering a person and them just being in the address book, and where do they go when they have been registered? Where is the list of registered users?

Once again sorry to sound stupid but the only manual I could find is a bit too advanced - not really for my level. Any links or advice would be well appreciated.

Thanks

D

I am just beginning to dig into notes as well, but there is a clear distinction between a registred person and just an adress in a adressbook. In order to create a Notes user you will have to certify him, creating an ID file. If you create a user this way the certificate will hold all the information for the notes server to identify the user.

Just a entry in an addressbook does not mean anything to Notes

T. Blom
Information analyst
tbl@shimano-eu.com

OK. So does the id file end up in the address book? I'm just asking because of the error message I received.
What is the procedure for cerifying a user? Is it the same as registering?

Thanks

D