Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Confused - Setting up web server behind BEFSR81

Status
Not open for further replies.

herrslime

Technical User
Sep 26, 2002
I am trying to setup a web server (NT4 w/iis 4) at work. This is my first time doing a web server but I have worked with networks before.

I have DSL service thru SBC Ameritech and own 5 static IP addresses. The Ameritech router uses 1 (64.109.xxx.62)and I would like to assign another (64.109.xxx.57) to the web server. The web server is plugged into the Linksys router which is behind the SBC router. I have SBC's DNS server numbers. I am planning on accessing the web server just using the IP address, no domain name.

If I setup the server to get an ip automatically from the Linksys DHCP, Internet Explorer connects fine. I run into problems trying to setup the static IP. I know where the settings are but I do not understand how each part is setup.

I think I need to do 3 things.

1. Set a static IP address on the NT computer
I believe the static IP on the NT needs to be in the DHCP range of the Linksys router and the subnet mask needs to be the same (192.168.1.111 & 255.255.255.0). Gateway 192.168.1.1. Do I need to enter the DNS, WINS or anything else?

2. Open a port or forward on the Linksys
Help!

3. Setup something on the SBC router.
Help!

My big confusion comes from not understanding how the WAN ip address (64.104.xxx.57) makes its way to the web NT computer (192.168.1.111). Or is my setup totally wrong? My test to see if everything works is to get IE to see linksys.com, to be able to ping microsoft.com (these are arbitrary) and to be able to ping the web server address from my home computer. Or is my test wrong?