Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Confused about native VLAN, tagged and untagged ports 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

gmail2

Programmer
Jun 15, 2005
IE
I'm pretty new to VLAN's so I hope somebody can help me out. I've got a ProCurve 26xx and I need to create two VLAN's. I renamed the native vlan to vlan1 and created vlan2 also. There is a PIX plugged into port1 which has had it's interface trunked. The VLAN assignment is as follows:
Code:
port     VLAN1     VLAN2
1        Tagged     Tagged
2-12     Untagged   Untagged
13-24    Untagged   Tagged
But I'm beginning to think that this is incorrect. I tagged port 1 to both because of the PIX interface being trunked. I left the remaineder untagged because this is the native vlan (now I'm not 100% sure if these two issues are even related). I can ping the default gateway on the PIX which is defined as physical. However, if I change port 2 (where the PC I'm testing from is plugged into) then I can no longer reach the pix. I don't quiet understand that, surely Tagging it into VLAN1 is a more explicit way of saying that the port belongs to VLAN1.

On the second VLAN however, where I've tagged all the ports for VLAN2, I cannot reach the interface on the pix (same subnet, defined on the PIX as logical). Am I completely missing the point here? Could somebody explin to me a little about the tagging? If I changed the VLAN assignement for VLAN2 on port 13 to Unassigned, would it work? Sorry, I didn't have much time to test yet ... but it just seems the more I think about this the more confused I get about the tagging and the native VLAN. Can somebody help me out at all?

Irish Poetry - Karen O'Connor
Get your Irish Poetry Published