Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Configuring VLAN on Catalyst 2948G L3

Status
Not open for further replies.

chonet4444

IS-IT--Management
Oct 31, 2001
US
I would like to configure 2 VLAN's on the switch. One port would be xxx.xxx.2.192 and the other would be xxx.xxx.4.192.

Is it possible to route traffic from a PIX 515UR to the 2 VLAN's? How do I route traffic between the two VLAN's?

Is there a good sample config for me to follow? I'm new to switch configs, so any help would be appreciated.

TIA,
chonet

The correct way to do this is with a router with a fastethernet port. You can create 2 vlans on the switch, then place the router on a port configured for both vlans (there is an option for this under the switchport command on the switch) and then configure 2 ip addresses on the eth port (with the secondary suffix)

I am not a professional with switching but this might help.

It might be best if you created 3 seperate VLAN's instead of only 2. The reason is because you really don't want to have your PIX on the same VLAN as all of your other devices (since it is a firewall). Since the switch you are using is a "router", because of the "mini" RSM, it will route between the 3 VLAN's. If a request comes from the PIX wanting to go to the xxx.xxx.4.192 address it will go to that VLAN. I can't tell you where a good config example would be for you to look at. I hope this helps you out.

Kiefmer

Thanks for the help. Now for a twist on the setup. What about vlans involving a Cisco 2948G-L3 and Nortel Accelar 8010? What "gotchas" should I be looking out for when setting up vlan with these two devices?

Regards,
Halim