Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

configuring d-link dfe 530 tx NIC for solaris8 (intel) 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

cisco2511

ISP
Feb 6, 2001
US
hello,
i am a beginner.i have installed solaris8 on a pc.
i have a dlink 530 tx NIC.how do i configure this card.
Regards,
kcp

by configure do you mean ip configuration? If it's a supported nic, you should have had the oppurtunity to configure it during the gui portion of the solaris install...

the hardware compatibility lists for the intel/solaris editions are available at:

assuming that the nic is supported, you can verify it is configured in the kernel by typing:

ifconfig -a

you should see an entry for the loopback interface (lo0)and one entry for each nic you have.

now that (hopefully) you have a nic installed and the kernel driver loaded, you can run:

sys-unconfig

which will clear your current network config, reboot and walk you through the initial network setup again.

*It is possible to reconfigure with other methods, however it will involve multiple file edits to make it permanent, but personally I prefer this method because of it's simplicity (though others may rightfully disagree).

hello,
when i type:
ifconfig -a

it shows the following message:
lo0 : flags = 1000849 <up,loopback ,running,multicast,ipv4 >atu 8232 index1 init 127.0.0.1 netmask ff0000000

now that the NIC is configured how do i assingn the ip address and the DNS (pri and secondry)
and the gateway

Regards,
kcp