Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Configure a 3750 switch with two internet uplinks

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajury

IS-IT--Management
Aug 27, 2010
US
The switch will be located at a collocation facility that provides two internet uplinks (for redundancy). Based on their diagrams a standard layer 2/3 switch with a public VLAN configured that has both the primary & secondary Ethernet uplinks connected to it as well as any external firewall (a Cisco ASA 5510) interface in the same public VLAN.

I have some experience with configuring routers but I'm not too sure how to approach this setup.

Any ideas?

So are you trying to do policy routing (if traffic from X go out Y interface)? I'm not sure you can do that with that hardware. You can set traffic going to a specific destination (all traffic going to Z go out Y interface) to go out one link instead of another with regular route commands.

If you have a /24 or larger IP block you could use 2 routers and run BGP for multi-homing (automatically use any link, and if one fails automatically use the other).

I believe that Fortinet makes a device that can use either interface, but that's more of a small biz level device I believe.

@nosebreaker
I have the same setup, i just have have one 2911 with two GigabitEthernet interfaces connecting to the data center equipment with the two interfaces on the same subnet, i need to configure failover. If the primary link fails i want traffic to switch to the secondary/ backup link.

Your contribution highly appreciated.