Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Configure 2611 for use behind cable modem

Status
Not open for further replies.

alexmtech

MIS
Feb 1, 2003
US
Hi,
I currently have a cable modem with a Linksys Cable/DSL router using NAT to share my internet connection. For some reason the Linksys unit keeps freezing. I have a Cisco 2611 running IOS Version 12.2(5d). I want to configure the 2611 to pretty much do the same thing the Linksys is doing so I can use it to replace the Linksys unit. I tried this config that I gathered from a few different sources but it doesn't work. I am really new to the IOS CLI and understand most of the commands but not all of them. Anyway when I do a "show ip interface brief" command I get the following output:

Cisco2611c#show ip interface brief
Interface IP-Address OK? Method Status Protocol
Ethernet0/0 unassigned YES NVRAM up up

Ethernet0/1 192.168.1.1 YES NVRAM up up

I am assuming that the IP address for E0/0 would change when it acquires an IP from my cable provider's DHCP server. When I run the command it tells me unassigned so I am a guessing that interface is not getting an address. This is my current config. Can anyone tell me where I am making my mistakes or give me the exact code that would work for me in my situation. If possible maybe a brief description of what each section of code is actually doing. I really appreciate any help. Thanks in advance....!

Cisco2611c#show run
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 864 bytes
!
version 12.2
service timestamps debug uptime
service timestamps log uptime
no service password-encryption
!
hostname Cisco2611c
!
enable secret 5 $1$5KZ8$xUcOUIY8pQp1WKPmpz3gO90
!
ip subnet-zero
!
!