Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Conditional Printline? - Visual Studio 2010 and Crystal Reports

Status
Not open for further replies.

AustinOne

Programmer
Mar 22, 2002
US
I'm using Visual Studio 2010 and Crystal Reports for Visual Studio. I'm a newbie to this environment. I have searched for the answer and couldn't find it.

Is there a way to suppress the printing of an individual print line if it is blank?

Details: I have a report where in a particular section there are "mandatory" print lines and "optional" print lines, in pairs. There are approx. 30 of these. What we need to do is print each mandatory line and then, if the associated optional line is NOT blank, print it next. Else (if blank) don't print it and don't leave a blank line (in which case the next mandatory print line would print immediately next on the very next line. There is only one field in the "optional" print line, this field would be tested to see if it is blank.

The dataset/datatables containing these fields is built and populated in VB code and is then "pushed" to the CR.

So, is this possible - is there a way in the CR to suppress the printing of an individual print line if it is blank (using CR formulas or whatever)?

Hi,
If you place the lines in a Text Box in CR you can format the Text Box itself to suppress blank lines without leaving any blank space between the lines it does show.

(This was developed for use in Mailing Labels where not all addresses have the same # of lines, but it works regardless of the content)

[profile]

To Paraphrase:"The Help you get is proportional to the Help you give.."

In the section expert, highlight Details->check "suppress blank section".

-LB

Turkbear,