Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Companyweb stops responding

Status
Not open for further replies.

denisbrown

Technical User
Jun 8, 2005
GB
Hi all

I am relatively new to IIS. My employer has a SBS2003 box on which I have activated Sharepoint. It seems to run well for a few weeks, then stops. We just get a "Cannot find server / Page cannot be displayed" error.

I have checked with IISMGR and all services are started, and websites are running. I have also tried IISRESET.

Can anyone shed any light on where I should look next? I can only get this working again with a reboot, but that is not always possible.

Many thanks in advance

Is there anything in the Event Logs? They might contain something that points to the cause of this.

Hope this helps

Wullie

Fresh Look - Quality Coldfusion 7/Windows Hosting

The pessimist complains about the wind. The optimist expects it to change. The leader adjusts the sails. - John Maxwell

I can find nothing in the event log that points to an error with IIS or any web service.

Some thing to try

Delete all cookies and temp files on the remote PCs
Make sure that the remote pc has the DNS pinted the the sharepoint server
Run net time to make sure the time on the server and remote pcs match.

When frustrated remember, in the computer world there is almost always a backdoor.

Have you tried to restart the DNS server?

That kind of thing happens to me sometimes, I just restart the DNS server and all comes back to life, still don't know what causes it.

DNS - Don't think I have restarted that one. Almost everything else (lol). If it happens again soon I'll give it a go.

Thanks for the suggestions.

PS