Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CommVault Training

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kimpatsu

MIS
Jan 4, 2005
US
Has anyone taken CommVault training courses, and if so, are they worthwhile? I'm new to CommVault and it seems a bit complex. I'm contemplating classes but they are expensive and wondering if they are worth it.

Thanks,
Brian

I and my co-worker both went to commvault training. Is it worth it? yes. Though it may not seem so when you leave the class. Commvault does things quite differently from say Backup Exec and the terminology is different. Almost like speaking a different language. We actually went to the class before we really implemented it so for myself I didn't have alot to refer to. I would suggest playing with it for awhile prior to going and have an implementation contractor come in to help you with setting it all up when your going to put it into production. That will help alot.

I did some training with them in the NJ office. From what I understand, you WANT to go there for training, the have better resources avail there.

I'd say it was worth while to learn the CV way of doing backups if for nothing else. They do stuff very differently and it can be hard to understand at first. The class helped.

Ensure before you go to the training that everyone is at the same level and play around with the system for a while. We had never seen the product and had no idea what the trainers were talking about - its a whole new world of backups and you need to have your questions ready.