Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

combo box selection to write a new record in another table

Status
Not open for further replies.

CSummers

IS-IT--Management
Jun 18, 2002
US
I have 1 form, it is bound to a REPAIRS table. This table has the fields Product (primary key) Date, NumberUsed. I have a unbound combo box that looks up a product from a PRODUCTS table. I want to select the product, and save a record in the table the form is bound to, REPAIRS. I also want to have a command button that runs an update query on the products table that decrements a field called INSTOCK for that particular product. I am brand new to access and have been trying to do this for 2 days- now I have myself totally confused. Any help would certainly be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

First of all you need to add a field to the Repairs table. This field should have the identfier for the Product being selected. Otherwise, you will never know what the repair is for.

Please details the fields in the Products table like you did with the Repairs table. What is the identifier field, product name field, etc. After that I can give you some code to perform what you need.

Bob Scriver
[blue]Want the best answers? See FAQ181-2886[/blue]

Thanks for the reply. The Products table has the following fields;
Products - a text field that I store a part number- primary key, no duplicates
Description - a test field that I store the description text
Instock- a number field that I store the number of the product in stock.

Cindi

First of all add a field to your Repairs table and call it Products_Numb, text, (same size as Products in the Products table. No index here though.