Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Collections?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmcswain

Programmer
May 30, 2001
US
I'm a long-time procedural programmer gradually easing into OOP. In VB I wrote a nifty little class complete with properties and methods, and one of my properties was a "Fields" collection. (It's a VBClip class for reading clipper tables with more than 255 fields in them using low-level unix-style file access.)

Now I'm creating a "Structure" class in VFP to hold table properties. This class will take a subset of table fields (there are 1000+ fields spread over 6 tables - nothing is normalized) and create a spreadsheet out of them. The idea is to have the programmer write a simple little program that'll end up looking something like:

Upload.AddField("G_LOAN","Loan Number")
Upload.AddField("B_NAME","Borrower Name")
Upload.CreateSpreadsheet("C:\Upload.XLS")

You get the idea. Naturally, drawing on my VB OOP experience, I wanted to set up a Fields collection in my Upload class. But from what I can gather in the VFP help file, there is no way to create a collection. How can this be? I thought VFP's OOP was superior to VB's. (Inheritance, polymorphism, etcetera...)

My question: What is the best way to accomplish this? Arrays? The seemingly non-existant collection? Subclassing?

Bear in mind that this is a purely programmatic class with no user interface or visible aspect whatsoever. It's just a big ole DEFINE CLASS sitting in a PRG file.

Please help!

HI
Have you read the following topics..
DBGETPROP, DBSETPROP
These little command are doing a lot of magic for me.. in getting and setting various automated routines.