Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Collecting data by emailing a database 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

terre

Technical User
Feb 2, 2003
AU
I have a problem, and wonder if anyone could suggest the best way around it.

I work in Education, and want the regional office to be able to collect data from each site across the region.

I wanted each site to have an access database, and at the end of each term, the database creates a new (smallish) database with all the relevant data, and email it to the regional office, where a Master database collates the data to generate regional reports.

All this works fine.

BUT!!!!!

THe Education department has stopped its email system from emailing databases...(or .mdb files anyway)
One solution would be to rename each file as a (EG) .rxx file, and then rename them back to .mdb upon receipt.
But this seems dodgy at best, and I thought might risk corrupting and/or losing data.

Any suggestions about a good way around this?

Why not using CSV files ?

Hope This Helps, PH.
FAQ219-2884
FAQ181-2886

I don't see why renaming the extension would corrupt the file.

In any case, I would be zipping the MDB's up since that's going to make the attachment much smaller. If your department doesn't stop .zip attachments then you're fine.

How are ya terre . . .

Have you given any thought to [blue]FTP![/blue] Only password protected regional clients could perform the uploads! For you ... this is fast and the most direct!

[blue]Your Thoughts? . . .[/blue]

See Ya! . . . . . .

Be sure to see thread181-473997 [blue]Worthy Reading![/blue] [thumbsup2]
Also faq181-2886 [blue]Worthy Reading![/blue] [thumbsup2]