Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cognos Express Errors - Can we disable cursors??

Status
Not open for further replies.

boydk68

Technical User
Mar 9, 2012
US
Hi, I'm new to Cognos Express, and I'm trying to complete a proof-of-concept internally in our lab for a customer that uses this product. I have downloaded the demo version of Cognos Express 9.5.

I work for a columnar database software company that is a MySQL storage engine with a MySQL front end, and that is the backend for this POC.

So scenario is:
Cognos Reporting Studio > MySQL ODBC 5.1 > MySQL Columnar Database

It is important to note: I am working with Reporter Studio only, not Framework Manager.

I am receiving the following errors when trying to run this simple select off one dimension table:

select sum(`customer`.`c_custkey`) as "c_custkey"
from `customer` `customer`

When I validate report to view the error details, it provides me with the following information:

An error occurred while performing operation 'sqlPrepareWithOptions' status='-9'.

or other times it returns

UDA-SQL-0107 A general exception has occurred during the operation "prepare".
[MySQL][ODBC 5.1 Driver][mysqld-5.1.39]

RQP-DEF-0177 An error occurred while performing operation 'sqlPrepareWithOptions' status='-9'.
UDA-SQL-0107 A general exception has occurred during the operation "prepare".
[MySQL][ODBC 5.1 Driver][mysqld-5.1.39]

UDA-SQL-0114 The cursor supplied to the operation "APICursor::OpenResult" is inactive.

RSV-VAL-0004 Unable to find query information for the item c_custkey.

In other words, it's not consistent.

Every now and then, it will return a result when I view in pdf, but most times it just errors out.