Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cognos developer interview 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

DrSmyth

Technical User
Jul 16, 2003
GB
Hi, I'm new to the cognos forum and have a pretty general question. Basically I've not used Cognos before but have an interview as a cognos developer (they are providing training and I've used Business Objects which i understand is similar) and was wondering if anyone could provide some basic advice/summary so I can show the interviewer that I've at least attempted to find out about the role..

Cheers for any help you can offer... Could well be taking part in this forum a lot more if things go well..

Hi DrSmyth,

Welcome to the Cognos world from a fellow (ex)-BO developer.

Be prepared to be bewildered cause Cognos takes quite a bit of time to get used to..

I have spend the last 2 years on Cognos after a 10 year stint with BO.

Not really a real expert yet, but I can quite possibly answer a lot of your questions , since our background is similar..

However where will I start? Do you any areas in particular you'd like to know about

Ties Blom

Hi,

Seem to remember you helping me out with a few things in the BO forum in the past (for which I'm very grateful). As it transpires, the interview was earlier today and I've been given the job...

I do still have some questions though, how would you compare BO to Cognos, are there similarities between any of the elements (e.g. universes, reports, UDO's LOV's what if any are the Cognos equivalents?)

Also, is there any kind of Cognos bible that I can get as a reference?

Let's start with some basics: