Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cobol help for a complete beginner

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heartfang

Programmer
Aug 20, 2015
US
Hello, I am a complete beginner to Cobol and I am looking for some help.

I am a CS graduate at my first job and my IT company has decided that I now need to learn Cobol. They have pretty much told me to go teach myself and I have come to expect little in the way of assistance. What I am hoping someone here could do would be to direct me to some good resources/tutorials for someone who has object oriented programming and is now needing to learn how to do mainframe related tasks with Cobol and JCL.

I already tried the tutorials on but I found their grammar atrocious and afterward felt I learned little. I have been looking at completed programs but often feel that they make no sense with my oop background.

An example snippet (Which I found while googling examples link) of my confusion is:

READ STUDENT-FILE
AT END MOVE 'NO' TO DATA-REMAINS-SWITCH
END-READ.
PERFORM PROCESS-RECORDS
UNTIL DATA-REMAINS-SWITCH = 'NO'.

With my background, I read that the second part would never occur because the until condition is already fulfilled. Obviously I am missing something.

Thank you for your time.

AT END is the EOF condition with the COBOL READ command. With COBOL you have to indicate what you want done when it happens. In this case, "NO" is moved to DATA-REMAINS-SWITCH. Since DATA-REMAINS-SWITCH is initialized to " " (or SPACES), the only condition that will cause the PERFORM to not work is if there is no data to read in STUDENT-FILE. This is what you want.