Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

cobol dead? 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimlee

Programmer
Jan 27, 2001
GB
Hi all,

i'm just looking for some clue as to the marketability of new and inexperienced cobol programmers.

I seem to be hearing that cobol is now being surpassed by newer languages and hence is becoming outdated, but also that it also makes up something like 85% of the worlds code for business applications.

I am nearing the end of my course now and am a bit worried that it may be hard to find a job in this field.

Can anyone shed some light on the situation?

thanks v.much.

Hi Jimlee,

From what I've seen during my job searches (I'm a consultant, so I do it more often than most) a combination of mainframe tools (COBOL/CICS/DB2) and web tools (Java, html, xml), and server tools (windows/lotus notes), and some of the IBM web enabling tools (MQSeries, CWS, Websphere) will put you into an ideal position to function in this new environment. That doesn't mean you won't find a job in any one of these disciplines, just means your chances are better.

They've been foretelling the demise of COBOL since the advent of PL1, and its still standing. There's an awful lot of cobol code out there that represents a sizeable investment, so I think the direction of the industry is moving toward hybrid systems: Front ends that use the web and pass a transaction to the mainframe for business rules processing, then back again to the web for presentation. For batch number crunching, to date there's nothing like the mainframe. This gives them the advantages of the new technology while leveraging their investment in the old.